Screen Anime April 2021 Line-up Adds Children Who Chase Lost Voices, Tiger & Bunny: The Rising, Production I.G Shorts, 009 Re:Cyborg

Online film festival Screen Anime announced their line-up of films that will be available from Thursday 25th March until Sunday 25th April. This line-up features three films, a short film collection, and a television series.

The titles below will be replacing the films Tokyo Ghoul (Live-action), Mind Game, The Case of Hana & Alice, Summer Days with Coo and the television series Planetes.

Children Who Chase Lost Voices

(Hoshi wo Ou Kodomo)

Audio: English, Japanese

Screen Anime’s Premiere title is Makoto Shinkai’s 2011 film Children Who Chase Lost Voices. Animated by studio CoMix Wave Films, the film was also written by Makoto Shinaki with music composed by Tenmon (5 Centimeters per Second, ef ~ A Fairy Tale of the Two).

“Life hasn’t been easy for Asuna since the death of her father. With her mother forced to work long hours to make ends meet, Asuna spends most of her time alone, listening to the crystal radio her father left behind. It’s a curious thing, requiring neither electricity nor an amplifier, but the strange music that plays over it is an even greater mystery. Where does it come from? And what does it mean?

The answers will lead Asuna into a hidden world filled with incredible dangers, where monsters roam and even the dead can be brought back to life. But there’s a price that comes with unlocking the secrets, and it may be more than Asuna can afford to pay!”

Anime Limited licensed Children Who Chase Lost Voices in 2020 for home video release, after being previously released by KAZE UK. The film was released as a collector’s edition Blu-ray steelbook in March 2021 followed by Blu-ray in April 2020.

Tiger & Bunny: The Rising

Audio: English, Japanese

Screen Anime’s Classic title is Yoshitomo Yonetani’s 2014 film Tiger & Bunny: The Rising, a continuation to the 2011 television series. Animated by studio Sunrise, the film was written by Masafumi Nishida (Tiger & Bunny Season 1) with music composed by Yoshihiro Ike (Dororo, Kuroko’s Basketball).

“Kotetsu T. Kaburagi, a.k.a. Wild Tiger, and Barnaby Brooks Junior’s partnership comes to a sudden end when Apollon Media’s new owner Mark Schneider fires Kotetsu and moves Barnaby back into the First League, pairing him up with Golden Ryan, a new hero with awesome powers and a huge ego to match. When the heroes are sent to investigate a string of strange incidents tied closely to the city’s Goddess Legend, they discover three super-powered NEXTs plotting to bring terror and destruction to Stern Bild.”

Anime Limited licensed Tiger & Bunny: The Rising in 2013 for home video release alongside the first film Tiger & Bunny: The Beginning. The film was released as a collector’s edition Blu-ray & DVD in June 2015.

Pigtails & Other Short Stories from Production I.G

Audio: Japanese

Screen Anime’s Festival Favourite title are a selection of short films from Production I.G.

Pigtails (Mitsuami no Kamisama), directed by Yoshimi Itazu and released in 2015. This is the main feature of the collection, running at 28 minutes length.

“A thought-provoking fable portraying a nation’s unspeakable feelings in the aftermath of the 2011 tsunami and Fukushima disaster. Based on the manga by Machiko Kyo”

Kick-Heart, directed by Masaaki Yuasa and released in 2013. This is notable for being funded by a successful Kickstarter campaign with support from fans across the world. The film runs at 12 minutes length.

“A love story between a pro-wrestler and a nun, each one with a secret to hide.”

Li’l Spider Girl (Wasurenagumo), directed by Toshihisa Kaiya and released in 2012. This is part of the Anime Mirai project in 2011, running at 25 minutes length.

“A broken antiquarian meets with a scared, eight-legged baby arachnid slipped out from an ancient book.”

Drawer Hobs (Tansu Warashi), directed by Kazuchika Kise and released in 2011. This is part of the Young Animators Fostering Project and Anime Mirai project in 2010, running at 23 minutes length.

“Unfulfilled call centre operator Noeru has to deal with six weird kids who have occupied her tiny apartment.”

Oval x Over, directed by Hiroyuki Imaishi and released in 2005. This was a promotional anime for the Bridgestone Indy Japan 300 Mile race, running at 9 minutes length.

“Running against destiny was never this burning hot.”

Anime Limited licensed Pigtails & Other Short Stories from Production I.G in 2016 for home video release. The collection was released as a collector’s edition Blu-ray & DVD in February 2019 followed by a standard Blu-ray & DVD in March 2019.

009 Re:Cyborg

Audio: English, Japanese

Screen Anime’s Curated title is Kenji Kamiyama’s 2012 film 009 Re:Cyborg, a reimagining of the 009 Cyborg franchise. Animated by studios Production I.G & Sanzigen, the film was also written by Kenji Kamiyama (Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex) with music composed by Kenji Kawai (Eden of the East, Higurashi: When They Cry).

“Many years ago, nine humans were captured and transformed into cyborgs for the purposes of becoming agents of evil. Instead, they rebelled, becoming champions of justice anytime the earth was in need.

Now, in a post-9/11 world, the meaning of “justice” has become clouded. The cyborgs, untouched by time, and some without memory of their status as heroes, have since taken up lives as ordinary civilians. But when a mysterious force known only as “His Voice” compels people across the world to commit unspeakable acts of violence, even cyborg 009, Joe Shimamura, falls victim to the irresistible faceless power. In an era when cyber-terrorism is rapidly advancing, how can the cyborgs combat an enemy that has no face, no weapons, and seemingly no motive?”

Anime Limited licensed 009 Re:Cyborg in 2013 for theatrical and home video release. The film was released as a collector’s edition Blu-ray & DVD in September 2015.

Eureka Seven (Part 1)

Audio: English, Japanese

Joining the TV series choice of the month’s slate is the first half of Tomoki Kyoda’s 2005 series Eureka Seven with episodes 1 to 25. Animated by studio Bones, the series was written by Dai Satou (Listeners) with music composed by Naoki Satou (Rurouni Kenshin live-action films).

The second half of the series will be added in the April to May 2021 line-up.

“Renton is a teenager trapped working as a mechanic in a backwater town. He dreams of joining up with a daredevil group of pilots known as Gekkostate and following in his father’s heroic footsteps.
When a mysterious beauty named Eureka shows up asking for a tune-up, Renton soon finds himself drawn into a high-flying mechanic dogfight that makes him a target of the military. When the dust settles on the spectacular battle, Renton is invited to join Gekkostate, but he soon discovers that even a dream come true has a dark side.”

Anime Limited licensed Eureka Seven in 2015 for home video release. The series was released as an ultimate edition Blu-ray and standard Blu-ray in November & December 2017.

Source: Screen Anime Press Release


Known simply as 'Grav' by the anime community, his interests are flexible as he is generally not that bothered by what he watches, whether it's a top-tier series or an enjoyable isekai harem trash type. Either way, he does his best to bring folks the latest news on AUKN and also any other information and unboxing hauls over on his Normanic Vault blog.

More posts from NormanicGrav...